## MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT HELD: JANUARY 19, 2016

## THE STATE OF TEXAS

## FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

## COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

On this the 19th day of January 2016, the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in REGULAR SESSION at the District office located at 112 North Houston Street on the East side of the square in Mount Vernon, Texas, with the following members present:

RODNEY NEWSOM
GARY CUNNINGHAM
DWAYNE BOLIN
BILLY JORDAN
TIM PHILHOWER
PRESIDENT
SECRETARY
DIRECTOR
DIRECTOR

and with the following members absent: NONE.

Also present were J.R. Alphin, Fred Anderson, Kevin Anthony, Becky Arterbury, John Astrello, Judith Astrello, Ron Barker, Ridley Briggs, Lillie Bush-Reves, J. Boatner, John Boatner, Lydia Carrascosa, Janet Cejka, Kenneth Cejka, Ed Claypool, Jenny Dennis, Liz Etheridge, Jerry Hammond, Richard Hamrick, Pam Hawthorne, Rick Hawthorne, Max Higgs, Bill Hinds, Mark Jackson, Don Jancosek, Bob Jewett, Rae Jewett, Don Johnstone, Mary Johnstone, Susan Jones, Johnny Kirby, Randy Kucera, Charles McAfee, Peggy Mize, Carolyn Moore, Lee Moore, Rosemary Morgeson, Tommy Morgeson, Harry Murray, Joy Murray, Randy Olson, Donny Owens, Leon Pless, Sandra Pless, Randy Rich, Wendy Rogers, Brian Ruyle, Ralene Ruyle, Terri Ruyle, Wayne Ruyle, Tim Seymore, Terry Smith, Tonia Smith, Peggy Stutts, Gary Swan, Pam Swanner, Everett Walter, Chock Yates, Marcy Yates, David Weidman and Sheila Donica.

The President called the meeting to order, declared a quorum present, and that the meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

Notice of this meeting was given, stating the time, place and purpose, all as required by Chapter 551 of the Government Code.

Billy Jordan gave the invocation.

General Manager David Weidman gave a presentation on the high water and flooding event that occurred in December 2015. After the presentation, the Board allowed the public to make comments and ask questions.

MOTION was made by Gary Cunningham, and SECONDED by Dwayne Bolin, to approve the consent agenda as amended. Motion carried unanimously. The Consent Agenda was as follows:

- A. Approval and Ratification of Minutes from the November 17, 2015 Regular Meeting
- B. Ratification of Paid Bills
- C. Investment Report
- D. New Lease Agreement for:
  - 1. Charles E. Raines, Lot 60, Block 13, Section 3, Tall Tree; and
  - 2. Mary Helen Spencer, Lot 88, Block 36, Section 4, Kings Country
- E. Amended and Restated Lease Agreement for:
  - 1. John F. McGee III, Lots 300, 314 and 315, Phase 3, Snug Harbor; and
  - 2. Kevin Ray and Danielle Arden Stanfield, Lots 48R-1 and 49R, Block 1, Section 2, Tall Tree
- F. Mutual Termination of Leasehold for Richard A. and Patricia Fennell, Lot 50, Unit 2, Pelican Bay
- G. Termination of Leasehold for Jamie Young and Marcus Antwone Young, Lot 32, South Park Addition

Copies of the Bills, Investment Report, New Lease Agreements, Amended and Termination are attached.

MOTION was made by Dwayne Bolin, and SECONDED by Tim Philhower, to approve the ratification of filing of an amicus brief supporting the request for an Attorney General's opinion from the Lavaca-Navidad River Authority regarding the possession of firearms on the Authority parklands. Motion carried unanimously. A copy of the amicus brief is attached.

MOTION was made by Tim Philhower, and SECONDED by Gary Cunningham, to authorize the General Manager to execute an agreement with Werntz & Associates regarding TPA services for the District's retirement plans. Motion carried unanimously.

MOTION was made by Dwayne Bolin, and SECONDED by Tim Philhower, to prohibit the carrying of firearms in a posted open meeting of the District. Motion carried unanimously.

At the request of Board members, the February meeting was rescheduled from February 16th to February 23rd.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Minutes approved this the 23rd day of February 2016.

Rodney Newsom, President	
Gary Cunningham, Vice President	
Dwayne Bolin, Secretary	
Billy Jordan, Director	
Tim Philhower, Director	
Till Tillillower, Birector	